One of the most important things we do in Lighthouse is give you a central place for all your 1 on 1 notes.  Taking notes is so important to being a good manager.

Here's a quick walkthrough of how we organize them, so you have all your notes easy to find and organized in Lighthouse.

First, we organize them by each person on your team:

Then within each team member, we give you a chronological look at all your discussions and notes with your team. 

1) Your Upcoming 1 on 1

Once you schedule your 1 on 1 (more on how to do that here), you’ll see we tell you when your next 1 on 1 is and give you all the details you need to run the meeting:

2) What happens after the day of the 1 on 1? It moves to the Previous 1 on 1 area.

At midnight of the day of your 1 on 1, we cycle your 1 on 1 to the Previous 1 on 1 spot directly below your Current 1 on 1 field:

From here, you and your team can do all of the same things as they did in the current 1 on 1 area. That means if the meeting happens late, or you or they want to add some notes later, you both still can. 

3) Moving to Past Notes: Your article of record.

Finally, once the cycle happens again, the current 1 on 1 will again move to the Previous 1 on 1, and your original meeting will move from the Previous 1 on 1 area, to your Past Notes:

IMPORTANT: This area is READ-ONLY. You cannot edit or add to your 1 on 1 notes once they have moved to the Past Notes area. 

A complete timeline of all of your notes will then always be a click away from your 1 on 1 tab. Just click on the date of the note you want to view.

We made this read-only so that it is an accurate record of your conversation. Often, if you want to let someone go, you need a record of your conversations, and by locking them in after a few 1 on 1 cycles, you ensure that the information is accurate and unaltered after the fact. 

4) What about logging or noting other conversations, random discussions, and coaching?

If you have a conversation or event you want to note that wasn’t part of a 1 on 1, you can use our Add a Note button, which is found at the top of the Past Notes area:

A new area will reveal where you can note the conversation and any action items associated with the conversation:

IMPORTANT: This is a one time edit. You can only make edits of that note in the session where you created it. 

As soon as you navigate away, refresh the page, or close your browser, everything you’ve noted will be saved and added to the Read-Only past notes area:

To help differentiate between a 1 on 1 and Add a note, you’ll notice we add an “added” date next to all add a notes. 

That way if you had a conversation mid week and didn’t add to it until after the week ended, you’ll know both the date of the event you set it to and when you added it.

What if you make a mistake?

If you add a note and don’t like it, you can click the trash can to delete it. 

Before you do delete though, open it and copy anything you would want to be in your new version of the note. Then click "Add a Note" and add whatever you wanted to preserve and make any changes. 

5) What if I want to see *everything* at once?

We’ve got you covered. Go to the Team section of Settings and download an export of your team member:

From this Excel export (which can also be uploaded to Google Drive), you can view all your notes organized in chronological order in a condensed fashion, as well as tabs in the spreadsheet for your Rapport notes and Goals for that team member. 


Still have questions about how your notes work in Lighthouse? Let us know here or with an intercom message by clicking the icon to the right:

Did this answer your question?